Tutorials

Question about teeth

HulaHoop

Hi, I'm new here and have a question if anyone can help?
At school, a long time ago I wanted to play sax or clarinet. I was given a tenor horn and trombone.
In my early teenage years I damaged my front tooth and had to have it capped - my real tooth filed down and a ceramic? artificial tooth cemented over it - my music teacher said this was the reason I wasn't chosen for sax/clarinet as I would find it difficult to play.
I've always wondered if this is really the case?
BTW, I did have a sax lesson a few years ago, and managed to make some noise.

Vetinari

I have a 5 tooth ceramic bridge. Between centre and 5 left. After bridge started to move about a bit( after 35 years) I started playing without touching teeth on mouthpiece. Not good but it's better than not playing

ESJohn

I am in the same condition as, at the age of 9, my left front tooth was broken and capped. I then took up the sax at age 15. Fortunately, I had no-one telling me that I shouldn't take up the horn. It is sad to think that your teacher had told you that you weren't allowed to do so. However, during those years of playing in the high school band, I wore a deep gouge into the mouthpiece because the capped tooth stuck out much further than the normal tooth. Here I am today nearing retirement and part of a community band. My woodwinds instructor advised me to use a mouthpiece protector. It has really helped me to keep my mouth steady as I play.
So yes, you can play the sax! Don't miss out just because of a tooth! Go get one, get a mpc protector and make some more noise! And as most here will tell you, take some lessons as soon as you can.

OP
H

HulaHoop

Thank you everyone for your replies, they're all very encouraging. And helpful info about the mouthpiece protector, I'm going to check out what it is!
And then lots of reading about recommendations before taking the plunge.
Thanks!

jbtsax

Subscriber