All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
SYOS

Beginner Potential embouchure problems

angie54321

I'm a complete newbie, and have been struggling to master embouchure.

I think I have finally got it - but I have a question:

I am putting my top teeth on the top of the mouthpiece as recommended. BUT two of my front teeth have veneers, and I am wary of the vibrations and the constant contact damaging the veneers.

Has anyone else had a problem with this and has ended up with dental problems, or am I worrying over nothing?

And....if it is a potential problem - what's the answer?

Any advice welcome!

MandyH

Sax-Mad fiend!
Subscriber
Hi Angie,
you could try a mouthpiece patch. It's like a self-adhesive rubber patch that you stick on the upper side of the mouthpiece.
My top 2 front teeth are crowned and I used to get horrible vibrations through my teeth into my skull.
I used the thickest mouthpiece patch, it reduces the amount of vibration to virtually nothing for me, so hopefully would be of use to you.
Mandy

Justin Chune

Mouthpiece patches are the way to go and remember to play with a light touch. No biting and you'll be fine.

Jim.

angie54321

Hi Angie,
you could try a mouthpiece patch. It's like a self-adhesive rubber patch that you stick on the upper side of the mouthpiece.
My top 2 front teeth are crowned and I used to get horrible vibrations through my teeth into my skull.
I used the thickest mouthpiece patch, it reduces the amount of vibration to virtually nothing for me, so hopefully would be of use to you.
Mandy
Thanks, Mandy. After starting this thread I looked around the forum and found a thread from someone who was biting into the mouthpiece - and mouthpieces patches were recommended. So I ordered some. I'll let you know how it goes.

TomMapfumo

Hi Angie!