Playing without thinking

Yesterday I had a slightly unreal but exciting experience.
I was practicing a piece I'd been working on, reading the music, and I came across a part and my mind went blank. However, I just let my fingers do what they wanted, and it was perfect! (Well, relatively. )

Now I've read about getting to the point when you can play a piece of music subconsciously, but I've never experienced this before. I've been playing for a couple of months.
How do you encourage this subconscious knowledge of a tune?
Do you practice in a certain way?

Halfers

Finger Flapper
Subscriber
Don't try and force it. Let it come naturally. You're starting to learn your instrument and starting to hear where you need to go and making those connections with your fingers. That's about as far as I can go on advice. I typed that without having to think where all the letters were on the keys, nor have to look at them (much) !! Must be magic :p

MandyH

Sax-Mad fiend!
Subscriber
Repetition
Also, knowing the tune really well, will give you an instinct for where the next note needs to be pitched.

I've long said that I will never learn to play a piece by heart, but I learn a piece well enough that the music acts as an "aide-memoire" - it shows me where I need to start a phrase, and the shape of the phrase. My fingers know where to go because we have practiced each and every note and phrase many, many times, and I know the tune really well.
When I perform, I am not actually reading every single note, just letting my fingers do their thing.

(related to @Halfers comment above: I have a brand new computer keyboard this morning, after 10+ years of owning the last one. I have had to re-type words and delete many mistakes. All my previous keyboards have been the "ergonomic layout" ones and this one is straight. This will take a long time to get used to!)

nigeld

I think I need a different ligature
Subscriber
My teacher's method for learning a piece is as follows: