All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
SYOS

Playing the Altissimo Range on Tenor Sax

Der Wikinger

I currently use Otto Link 6* and Rico 2 1/2 reed. great tone. Can play up to F above the staff in tune and with ease (the third octave F). However, I would like to go higher. I have a book to help me. My mentor thinks perhaps a different mouthpiece and reed might get me there. Any suggestions?

dooce

Well, I mainly use the same mouthpiece with a 2.5 Java and don't have any problems with altissimo that I would ascribe to the set-up, as I can get the same range on the stock Cannonball 5 mp and a Berg 115 that I have just acquired. Not that I am an expert at it by any stretch of the imagination, but in my experience it is more about technique and practice than hardware.

thomsax

Some good exercises that might help:

• Overtones – Matching: Play the regular fingering for the note first and then the overtone fingering without braking the airstream.
• Overtones – Swithing: Low Bb fingering for all notes. Try also low B, C# and C. No octave key.
• Overtones – ”Flageolet”: As abowe but try to move up. If you first play low Bb (1) you should get Bb (2) (octave), F (fifth), Bb (3) (tierce) ……. !! No octave key.
• Overtones - Scales: Start on Bb Major Scale without using the octave key. Try to play all twelve keys without octave key.
• Overtones – Songs: Try to play a song without using the octave key. ”Somewhere Over The Rainbow” is a good song to play without octave key.

Overtones exercises are hard to do. Just small steps, if you are not used to them.