All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
SYOS

Plastic mouthpiece question

fireman2035

I have an oldr sax that was bought for me many years ago. Has been in "storage" (the closet) for many years. It is an Evette Buffet Crampon Alto Sax. When I took it out of the case and started to put it together I noticed that the mouthpiece looked like it had a tiny hairline crack in it where the reed end lines up with it. my question is should I replace the mouthpiece because of this crack? Will this crack have an affect on the sound that is produced? And what should I replace it with if I do have to replace it. I am a beginner so I would more than likely need something for first time sax players. There is no number on it, but the opening is pretty big. Thanks for any help with this.

Barry

breathless

There are far more quailified people than me and they will probably be along soon enough however in the mean time, 1st off I would suggest replacing it simply on a hygene point of view, as this crack will harbour bacteria which you will continually be placing in your mouth.
If that's not convincing enough then maybe the possibility that it could interfere on a resonance point of view and could effect your sound. No point creating hurdles before you start!

As far as a replacement is concerned take a look at Yamaha 4c, these are a beginners mouthpiece that will do just fine and are available for around £25.

Hope that helps, good luck.

Rgds Lee.

TomMapfumo

All depends - the mouthpiece may not sound quite right. Also depends whether it is a good mouthpiece, or just a poor one that came free with the sax. If it does not play well - do let us know - then I would certainly recommend getting a new one - I would recommend a Bari Esprit II which I reviewed recently, asnd thought very highly of - only costs £14 or so: http://www.bariwoodwind.com/new%20site/altosaxtnew.html#espritas

Kind regards
Tom

Last edited by a moderator:

kevgermany