support Tutorials CDs PPT mouthpieces

Online Theory Course (opinions)

trimmy

One day i will...
Locality
Liverpool ( Pool of Life )
Group On have a deal for a online music theory course at £19.99 i was thinking of getting it, I have the AB music theory book which i leave in my cab to study.
Question is would the online version be of benefit ? Or does anyone know of other resources which maybe be better ?
Group On course
https://www.clementstheory.com/

The AB theory books and a set of previous examination papers were what I used for grade 5. I had a look at a freebie online question / answer site, but it didn't cover the syllabus and wasn't accurate.

I have no experience of the groupon site, so can't comment on that.

Read the AB theory books thoroughly and do a past paper. This will highlight weaknesses. Revise these and do another past paper. Once you're getting high marks, you should be good to go.

The hardest part I found was memorising the musical terms. They're not a major part of the exam though. I knew about a third to a half of them, and still managed grade 5

I got the thin orange (red?) AB book "First steps in Music Theory, grades 1-5" which has 5 chapters, one for each grade: http://www.amazon.co.uk/First-Steps...4&sr=1-2&keywords=first+steps+in+music+theory which I read a chapter at a time, then did 4 past papers (you get 4 papers in each booklet) relating to each chapter.
Once I had read that and done the past papers, I also read the pink book, "AB Guide to Music Theory, book 1": http://www.amazon.co.uk/AB-Guide-Mu...&keywords=the+ab+guide+to+music+theory+part+1 from beginning to end.
After that I took, and passed my grade 5 theory.

Thanks for the replies David & Mandy :thumb:

I have the AB guide to music theory, I'll order the other book and work on them, where would i get past test papers from ?