All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
PPT Mouthpieces

Beginner Newb problems

DamoRed

Which key.png

HELPPPP! o_O I was just playing around and pressing some keys, I don't know which ones, on my alto, and now I can't get it back... It must have happened to others here, mustn't it?

Another problem I'm having is finding the sweet spot of placing the mouthpiece, after I remove it from my mouth and start again. Sometimes I get it and with a good long breath, hit nice clean tones, and the next time, there'll be strangled squeaks and burps, which is only to be expected for an absolute beginner. When I was able to put a run of 6-7 random notes together, on either the left or right keys alone, I was pleasantly surprised by the depth of the notes I was able to reach. In order to get it down, it's going to be just a matter of trial & error and then muscle memory.

Some of the aforementioned squeals, possibly unintentional altissimo, hold the promise of higher notes when I get things under control.

jbtsax

Café Supporter
The cause of most tone production problems is lack of consistency. These are some things that worked in my teaching saxophone students over the years.
  1. Place the top teeth at the same spot on the top of the mouthpiece each time
  2. Insert the mouthpiece into the mouth at the same angle each time you play
  3. Set the neckstrap to the same length each time (affects #2)
  4. Use the same posture each time you play
To work on the first goal, follow the instructions at this link. Teaching the saxophone embouchure. When you find the place to put your top teeth on the mouthpiece, put a thick mouthpiece patch over that spot and make a deep indentation with your thumb nail. Each time you insert the mouthpiece into your mouth find that "groove" with your top teeth.