All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
Tutorials

New member checking in

justin

Hi, I'm Justin. I was bought an alto sax by some friends when I left my last job. I work in a school, and decided that I'd learn to play sax very publicly at school so that I can talk to the children about learning and to demonstrate the pretty amazing idea (if you're a kid) that adults are still learning stuff too.

I've played piano and guitar for years, but never before thought that I could play a wind instrument. I like jazz and blues, so I bought John O'Neill's book on learning by the jazz method. I'm really enjoying my first efforts, even if my family aren't because it's so LOUD. Have been thinking about good places and times to practice that don't annoy neighbours and family. Not easy.

Anyway, that's me and why and I'm here.

gladsaxisme

Try Hard Die Hard
Subscriber
Hi justin

welcome to the cafe the teaching the children thing seems a great idea to me,almost as good as the actual learning the sax yourself idea,enjoy the cafe and your new sax journey...john

kevgermany

ex Landrover Nut
Subscriber
Welcome. Have fun. I'm really impressed by you dedication to your job. Remembering back to my schooldays, there were a couple of teachers/mastes that made lasting, positive impressions on me - and they were both very positive can do people.... So take a bow!