All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
Tutorials

Beginner New Alto Player

TinyDragon

Hi Guys,

Im just beginning my sax journey :w00t: and have been teaching my self for around 2 weeks now.

I didn't have a clue what i was buying and now worry ive not made good choices as there is no way i can afford to buy anything else. I love my sax and hoped you all could tell me if what i have is going to help or hinder my learning.

My sax is a Bauhaus-WALSTEIN Alto Saxophone (2 tone not that matters for sound i know but i just love the look of them (^_^) I have a yam 4c mouth and ive been using a rico 2 reed but im about to buy some reeds and so could use some advise on what to get for a beginner..

I will try and upload a short piece so u guys can see if im on track .. I can't afford a teacher and so i have the following help guides/books

Pete's DVD (Jools Holland introduces The Saxaphone)
Essential Elements 2000 + dvd/cd
Scales and Arpeggios for saxaphone
saxaphone fingering chart
Dip in - graded alto sax solos

Is there anything i should get to help or just continue with what i have? I know not having a teacher is not ideal to start with but at this point in time i just can't afford one .. Children come first etc etc .. But i really didn't want to /couldnt wait any longer to get going .

Finding it hard to get a comfortable postion for my mouth but i guess thats due to needing to condition my lip to playing. Also im unsure how far on should i push my mouth piece and how tight etc the reed should be done ... sorry for the daft questions :confused:

Thx for reading and i look forward to joining this community (^_^)

MandyH

Sax-Mad fiend!
Subscriber
Hi there tiny dragon and welcome to the cafe.
I know I can't answer all your questions, but what I read is good so far - you are doing well.