Subscriptions and donations are given to special needs music education charities
SYOS

Saxophones My New Sax

Lewis.S

Hi, this is my first time on the forum, so be gentle!;} and Merry Christmas!
I just wanted to ask about my new alto saxophone. I am really pleased to say it is a Selmer Super action 80 series II, I had to take out a large chunk of my savings for this, it is supposed to last my life, and I hope it will.:mrcool Though the reason I have started this thread is not to polute this, (as we kids say) awesome forum, I just would like to know what accessories would be good, mouthpieces, cleaning cloths etc. I can save up!

I currently have a selmer S-80 mouthpiece which I got FREE! and I have the lig and cap that came with the sax.

As well as the sax playing like a dream, the ridiculous price held me back, but we got it excluding VAT, so hundreds of pounds stayed in my savings!:D
I'm really happy with the sax itself, it is really comfortable and enjoyable to play, but I am insecure on the sound. (I take this very seriously you know!)

Lewis

Last edited by a moderator:
OP
Lewis.S

Lewis.S

Hi Tommy,

Thanks,:thankyou: I am glad I don't need a new mouthpiece, though I am worried about whether I need any new cleaning kit for it, I don't want to spoil a good sax.:D

Lewis

P.S. Anyone who posts to me, I am young but I understand all the terminology!

Chris98

Hi Lewis,

Welcome to the forum, have you been playing long?

Forgive me if I've got this wrong but I was under the impression that Selmer's came with the S-80 as standard but lack a case! If you've not got a good case to protect your lovely new sax then I'd strongly suggest you get one.