supportTutorialsCDsPPT mouthpieces

My guitar is glaring at my new Sax.

Glen.

Hi all,

I'm a new Sax owner and Saxophonist, this forum and Pete's website have been very useful to me while choosing a beginner Sax and picking up some techniques and finding a tone that's vaguely reminiscent of a Saxophone!

I'm a professional guitarist and so naturally that means I can't read music and I have nothing in the way of theory knowledge. :rofl:

Seriously though, I can read enough to get by, especially when I only have to think about one note at a time but I tend to get the gist of it from sheet music and play the rest by ear, referring back to the score if I get stuck.

My 10 year old daughter was given a loaner sax to learn on by her school and I immediately fell in love with it, although it's well worn, it seems to work fine but the bug bit and I had to get in on the act!

After reading lots of reviews and not having a ton of money to invest in a hobby (for now, who knows?) I was well in the 'cheap chinese' sax market. I wanted to get a Jericho from Academy but they are out of stock with no specific date on when new ones are in and if I'm anything, it's impatient, so I opted for a reasonably well reviewed alternative, the Gear 4 Music Alto, with a black finish (which is less black than I expected, yet still pretty!).

My Daughters loaner Jupiter 500 series has much heavier springs on the keys and sounds a bit mellower than the G4M, also weighs a good bit more, but intonation seems good enough on both that I can play in tune most of the time on either.