All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians

M/Pieces - Ligs Mouthpiece Help

JasonY

Hello all,
I've been playing the saxophone for about 11 years now and am currently in the HS jazz band and combo as a senior. I play on a Vintage Phil Barone Saxophone with a Phil Barone NY HR mouthpiece and a versa ligature. I've been using 3 1/2 Vandoren V16 reeds and just started using RJS Filed Medium reeds. I'm interested in getting a Jody Jazz HR 7 or a RPC 90 mouthpiece. I was wondering which one you prefer and can explain the differences to me before I purchase one of them or if my current mouthpiece is actually better. I would also like to know which ligature you prefer. I just purchased a Francois Louis Ultimate lig to put on my PB NY but it doesn't fit, would it fit the RPC or Jody Jazz? My playing style is going for a modern style, pointing towards the sound of the saxophonist from Spyro Gyra, Dave Koz, Eric Marienthal and Gerald Albright (Some of my favorite artists). I am aware that they all play on Beechler mouthpieces, but I can't find any reliable stores on the internet. Any help?

Colin the Bear

Locality
Burnley bb9 9dn
You've been playing long enough to know that it's you that makes the sound. Better? Only you can decide. You need to try any gear before investing large sums of cash. The gear that I find gives me a magical sound, may give you a head ache.

kevgermany

ex Landrover Nut
Café Supporter
Locality
Just north of Munich
I haven't played either, so can't help. But hopefully someone who has will be able to describe what they found.

Another way forward is to contact the makers and discuss your needs with them. Many RPCs are tailored to players needs, so any you find for sale may not be representative of a standard one.