All profit supporting  special needs music education

M/Pieces - Ligs Mouthpiece and reed dillema.

dref

HI all I don't know if I am posting this in the correct section, but here goes. I am a relative beginner who plays a G4M tenor, with vandoren java 2.5 reeds and a Bari Esprit mouthpiece. I have also been using legere signature 2 and 2.25 which I like very much as they are so easy to blow. The trouble is my teacher does n't like them. He wont let me use them during a lesson. He is a very generous man and gave me an E Rousseau JDX7 which he is trying to encourage me to use instead of my Bari Esprit . I can't blow the damn thing. I have trouble getting the low notes and have to blow real hard to get the high notes. It makes my ears pop. My teacher says I should persevere as my chops will develop into this set up. I am not so sure. I would prefer to go back to my old easier set up or perhaps try a Windcraft Etude. What should I do?

Yours Dref.

DavidUK

Café Supporter
Locality
Near Lutterworth, Leics.
What is your tutor's reasoning?

kevgermany

ex Landrover Nut
Café Supporter
Locality
Just north of Munich
I'd politely say thanks, but no thanks to your teacher. No point in making life difficult for yourself to fit in with stupidity. You have to stand up to prejudices like this. Your teacher's there to teach, not dictate your gear. If you were having a problem and a change was suggested, different matter. But as you have something that works, there's no real justification.

Fraser Jarvis

Think the role of your teacher like any teacher is there to guide you not insist you do anything, when I turned up for a lesson with a Lawton 10b mouthpiece my teacher was keen to try it for himself, after he tried it he handed it me back with a smile on is face and told me it was to much for him, but if it suited me and my style of playing then good for me.

Greg Strange

Locality
Hamilton, Waikato, North Island, New Zealand