All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
Tutorials

Mouldy reeds

Marty-B

Is it possible to clean the black mould off of reeds ,or are they no longer any good(breathing in microscopic spores etc).I have only had this problem since I started storing my reeds in a TTS tin,never when using manufactures reed guards as supplied.

Lelly

Scarily Tall!!!!
Assuming you do not have dozens of reeds in this condition, why the hell would you want to clean the mould off? Take it as one of life's little lessons and buy some new ones - ugh!

Otherwise, try Milton?

Lx

Ivan

Undecided
Subscriber
Playing a mouldy reed isn't a health hazard assuming:

1)You don't have some immune deficiency that leaves you susceptible to fungal infection
2)You've scraped off the furry bits so there's nothing to inhale in any quantity

I agree that a soak in Milton wouldn't go amiss if only to make the reeds (marginally) more palatable

QWales

I'm no expert but if you are concerned and don't want to bin and buy new, a scraping with something like a razor blade and a soak in some white(clear) vinegar for a couple of minutes should do the trick.

Justin Chune

I would just wash them under the tap and you could wipe them with Listerine or similar. If they are really bad, dump them. I only ever got mold on reeds when I stored the reed holder in a Ziplock bag. This was a tip from a book as well.

So, dump the tin and get a reed holder, or go back to using the holder they come in.

Let us know if you develop any symptoms.:)

Jim.

BigMartin

I say dump 'em. Moulds and fungi penetrate deeply into whatever they're growing on. Scraping is really just cosmetic. Why risk your health for a few quid?

llamedos