All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
PPT Mouthpieces

Midlife madness

AlanSB

Hi,
Turned 50 at the end of last year, already had the motorbike and Fender Strat so decided to fulfil a long held dream to learn to play sax. Guitar-wise I play rhythm to a chord sheet which I then memorise - I had no musical theory knowledge and, being completely self taught, probably too many bad habits to correct now. I get away with it in our band. Don't know how!

Anyway after searching for a tutor I found one locally who seemed tame and was prepared to teach a newby from scratch. So I bought a tenor sax and went for it. After 5 months I can make a reasonable effort at reading music, play pieces and do a bit of basic improvising. Not much, but I'm happy. There is hope. And that magic the lead guitarist gets up to is 'only' a minor pentatonic scale - ha, the game's up!

My tutor hasn't given up on me, my head hasn't exploded with all the theory and scales being stuffed in it, so the journey continues.......

Should have started years ago.

Alan.

Sunray

Hey Hey Alan ...

Let me be first to welcome you to the Cafe mate ...

Sunray waves from Norfolk ... :old:

Make sure you have loads of fun learning and playing your Tenor ...

Jeanette

Organizress
Cafe Moderator
Welcome Alan

I started learning sax about a year ago with no musical knowledge and I am still loving it. Theory does me in if I think too hard so I have decied to just absorb it as I go. I'm sure my tutor despairs at times but it's all good fun.:)

Jx

TomMapfumo

Hi Alan!

A Big Welcome to the Forum from a fellow 50yo (53). So what sort of stuff are you playing on your tenor sax? Glad that you've found a tutor who you get on well with. I look forward to hear how you're getting on. I'm a Fender Jazz Bass man myself, but generally prefer playing instruments that I can blow.

Kind regards
Tom

Last edited by a moderator:

MandyH

Sax-Mad fiend!
Subscriber
Hi Alan,