All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
Tutorials

Mature, slow learner - enthusiastic Sax Player needs help!

Avon

Hi All,

I started playing the sax just about the time of my 50th Birthday and love it. I've two horns described below. But I have a problem which I'd be really grateful for some advice on.

When playing the tenor I really struggle to get a clean sound when goind to notes below low D from say A and above. I can get the note nice and cleanly after a short 'wobble/squeak/flutter". I've tried relaxing my emboucher, putting more mouthpiece in my mouth, blowing harder, blowing softer. It seems to work best if I legato from the A to the D or below, but the particular piece I'm working on needs to be tongued. I have no trouble running scales down to bottom Bb so I think its something to do with the transition, but can't work out what. I guess it might simply be practice thats required, if so I'd be grateful for advice on what and how to practice effectively.

Any advice gratefully received.

I love playing the sax - its so rewarding (well for me at least!).

trimmy

One day i will...
Welcome to the cafe Avon :thumb: i saw the title and thought you were talking about me ' Mature, slow learner ' :)))

Chris

Well Known
Subscriber
Welcome from me as well, I don't think you will be on your own as a mature learner.
There are more than one or two around here..

Chris..

breathless

Hi, Im 43 and started playing (or pretending to) 2 weeks ago and am suffering the same problem only it happens to me on most notes! LOL!

back to see the teacher tomorrow!

Lee.

Avon

Many thanks to you all - and the 'Air Support' pages are really helpful - I never knew that holding a piece of paper against a wall by blowing could get such interesting comments!!

'Breathless' you nearly had me worried - I think after 2 weeks I'd only just managed to play a few notes from the middle of the range - and C to D remained a squeeky myth for many many months!