All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
PPT Mouthpieces

Low D downwards fails on my soprano after five minutes of playing

paleajed

Hello, new here first post!

I have been reading posts on this forum for years, but now I have a problem of my own I don't see addressed on internet yet. I have bought a second hand Bauhaus Walstein bronze soprano, it plays nicely but I have an awkward thing going on with it.
All notes speak well until I have been playing about five minutes, then suddenly everything starting from low D downwards blows an octave too high and it asks a lot of attention, and luck, to still hit it properly. As I've said the first five minutes of play are spotless, and no, I am not a beginner... ???? I already took it to a tech to get it set up, but they didn't know about this problem only popping up after a few minutes, so they must've missed it. So, I was wondering, what can cause such behaviour of the low notes and how could it be fixed? Should I bring it to a tech again explaining the problem properly? Or is there some special treatment I should ask for? I would like to see this fixed and wondering about learning about the cause too...

aldevis

Surrealist Contributor.
Cafe Moderator
Welcome to the caffè
What about mouthpiece/reed? It may be the effect of a swelling reed.

(Or a swelling pad, somewhere, but it never happened to me)

paleajed

Hi.
The problem persists over mouthpiece and reed changes. I've tried two very different (LeBayle jazz hard rubber, Otto Link metal) mouthpieces as well as different reeds. As different as the Legere Signature synthetics (so no swelling) I normally like and use, as well as a colorful assortment of cane reeds. I must say, when using reeds not appropriate to my playing style, the problem (low notes going up to the next octave) seems to occur immediately when I start playing and worsens with time.

Stephen Howard