support Tutorials CDs PPT mouthpieces

Looking for clues [alto sax, bizarre response]

Mark_S

As I play with the octave key depressed descending from high C, B, A, G, F, E, to lower D and then C, when I reach the D and C, the alto saxophone outputs A and G again! I'm new to saxophone, and don't even know where to look for the cause of this 'problem'.

Please don't reflexively tell me to take it to a shop. I can't afford to do that. I looked at those service prices they are out of the question. I picked up this Buechner sax for $75 and even that was a hit to the budget.

I have a workspace and a lot of tools and would prefer to try to resolve this myself, but the saxophone looks fine. It appears that all the valves/holes open and close properly. It plays well in the mid- and lower range. Thus far, I've only run into the odd response of the D and C keys at the low end when the octave key is depressed.

I'd greatly appreciate any hints or clues or points in the direction of possible issues that might be offered. Thanks!

Both octaves might be opened; only one should be. Check that mechanism. Pressing G should open the lower pip and above G opens the pip on the neck. Or the lower pip is not opening. Just guessing.Since it only happens with use of the octave, then that is what to check.

Both octaves might be opened; only one should be. Check that mechanism. Pressing G should open the lower pip and above G opens the pip on the neck. Or the lower pip is not opening. Just guessing.Since it only happens with use of the octave, then that is what to check.
You're right! That's it. I can see the mechanism on the neck trying to close, but not closing down, as the G is pressed and the lower octave valve opens.

Later when you have learned not to do this, it will take quite an effort to learn to do it at will and on purpose.
Meanwhile leave the C for now. C with octave key is for later.