SYOS

Listening to yourself play

thehunt

I have written on another part of the Caff.. about recording devices. I have been playing now for 18 months and not ever heard myself play, just bought a Zoom H2 as recommended by my esteemed fellow sax players and recorded a few tracks last night.
Wow! what an eye opener or should that be ear ?
I would recommend if you have not done it do it, i was amazed at how i perceived some notes as being good were in fact to harsh, i tend to tongue too much and attack most notes too harshly. It was not all bad though as my impro was ok and timing was good. As far as my ears could tell me.
It would be good to hear from others if they have gone through this phase and if it helped.
I do work a lot on tone, long notes etc but boy do i need to do more of that. Phil:w00t::welldone

Chris98

I have written on another part of the Caff.. about recording devices. I have been playing now for 18 months and not ever heard myself play, just bought a Zoom H2 as recommended by my esteemed fellow sax players and recorded a few tracks last night.
Wow! what an eye opener or should that be ear ?
I would recommend if you have not done it do it, i was amazed at how i perceived some notes as being good were in fact to harsh, i tend to tongue too much and attack most notes too harshly. It was not all bad though as my impro was ok and timing was good. As far as my ears could tell me.
It would be good to hear from others if they have gone through this phase and if it helped.
I do work a lot on tone, long notes etc but boy do i need to do more of that. Phil:w00t::welldone
Hi Phil,

I've always found it a humbling experience, but well worth it. You could always be kind to yourself and add a little reverb in Audacity, that is unless your already playing in your bathroom!

I think I'll follow your lead and dig out a mic and record my practice tonight.

All the best,

Chris

c9off