All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
SYOS

Keeping Mainstream Jazz Alive

Danny Luciano

I would like to take this opportunity to introduce myself and our new website www.dannyluciano.com . In order to gain worldwide exposure, we are asking for your consideration of promoting and spreading the word about our efforts. Our intention is to create a platform for mainstream jazz educating the younger players about the Ladies & Gentlemen of Jazz from the past, some of which have remained in obscurity. For example: Gene Ammons, Illinois Jacquet, Red Prysock plus many others.

I began my musical career in the mid-fifties playing tenor saxophone with local bands in the area of Philadelphia, Pennsylvania. During this time, I studied the saxophone rudiments with Mike Guerra, the former Granoff Music School teacher, of John Coltrane, Gerry Mulligan, and many others around the Philadelphia area. Mike Guerra also had his private studio in the Presser Building located 18th & Chestnut Streets in center city Philadelphia. Having more than 55 years of experience as a tenor saxophonist has given me the opportunity to express my viewpoints on the meaning of Mainstream Jazz -Straight Ahead Jazz and the meaning of “Playing in the Pocket” in other words . . . “It Don’t Mean A Thing . . . If It Ain’t Got That Swing!”

Sincerely yours,

Danny Luciano

www.DannyLuciano.com

kevgermany

ex Landrover Nut
Subscriber
Big welcome from me, hope your new site goes well. There's a good thread going at the moment about jazz being dead - I guess you have other ideas!!!

old git

Tremendous Bore
Welcome to the caff©, Danny.

Mainstream? That's a term from the sixties.

ENJOY!

Pete Thomas

Chief of Stuff
Commercial Supporter
Welcome to the caff©, Danny.

Mainstream? That's a term from the sixties.

ENJOY!