support Tutorials CDs PPT mouthpieces

Saxophones Just bought a backup alto

Pete Thomas

Cafe Moderator
Commercial Supporter
Locality
Sunny Southampton
sba-2.jpg
It's about time I bought another alto, it's an early Selmer SBA. It's a bit brighter than the old Buescher 400 TH & C. Soundfiles to come soon, probably after Stephen Howard has fettled it.

That looks in great condition I have never tried one before but I tried the cigar cutter and it was beautiful . I think a lot of people prefer it to the mark 6

It's in good nick - a relacquer no doubt but that doesn't bother me.

Sweet. My silver plated SBA alto is from 1950 and I love it. In fact I sold my VI because I didn't play it anymore after I found the SBA in a pawn shop and restored it. The shop owner was asking $75 for it and I talked him down to $50 because it was all black and smelly with rotting pads. And yes I can sleep at night since I rescued it and gave it a good home. :)

Not played an SBA Alto but the Tenor is superb , my Question is , if an SBA is the backup , what`s the main Alto ???? ..

I was wondering that lucky to have two great horns :)

Last edited:
Lovely horn Pete...

Saying a Selmer (Paris) Super Balanced Action (or more correct name Super Action) alto is your back-up is bit like saying this is my "around town hack" :rofl:

Greg S.

great saxophone,and i hope you got it for a great price...
when you say you got it for a "back-up horn",does that mean you only own 2 alto's now?
cheers,philip from down-under...

Lovely horn Pete...

Saying a Selmer (Paris) Super Balanced Action (or more correct name Super Action) alto is your back-up is bit like saying this is my "around town hack" :rofl:.

This was my point ! . I`d hate to think what the main horn is .. There must be car stickers for this " My Spare horn is a MkVI " . LOL

Where Does the TH&C fit in then - Spare backup horn :sax:

Where Does the TH&C fit in then - Spare backup horn :sax: