Tutorials

Saxophones Isolo choice

Totted

Hi
Can anyone help.... I have purchased an isolo Bluetooth mic but my question is - how (if it’s possible) do I record through laptop and audacity with it. Is it a case of 3.5 Mn jack lead from sync out to usb into laptop or do I need an audio interface usb
I’m not technically minded and this is doing my head in
If anyone uses this please help
Many thanks
martin

Ivan

Undecided
Subscriber
Hi @Totted

You ought to be able to link the mic to a laptop without an audio interface and without using the USB (given that's the job of the bluetooth)

Your laptop needs to link to the mic via bluetooth (instructions with the mic, or online, or switch on the mic, go to bluetooth settings on the laptop and take it from there)

Audacity then needs to choose that mic. There's a mic symbol with a drop down list and if Audacity is behaving itself, your mic should appear on that list

You need to have the mic linked to the laptop first, or Audacity won't find it

Last edited:
OP
T

Totted

Thanks Ivan
But I thought if the mic was connected to its own mixer thingy then that is using its Bluetooth connection? Can it have more than one at the same time? Like I say I’m the least tech person alive so appreciate any help

Ivan

Undecided
Subscriber
Oh, sorry

I mage an assumption about what sort of mic this is... I see there's a separate receiver with only a jack output. From what I see online the receiver is not designed to connect directly to a laptop/PC. It looks like it's designed for primarily performance rather than recording

....so.... it looks like you do need a separate audio interface... it'll mean spending more cash, if you don't already have one, but you've come this far.... or return mic to seller and get a USB mic and stand

randulo

Playing alto 2 ⅓ years
Subscriber