support Tutorials CDs PPT mouthpieces

Beginner Is it me?

DaveC

I started playing 12 months ago with a Boosey & Hawkes Lafleur Tenor after struggling for a few months my teacher suggested I might be better off with an alto.So I purchased a TJ The Horn alto and OMG what a difference so quick and easy to get from note to note not like the Tenor even though it had a full set up not so long ago I find it so much harder and slower to react than the alto.
Now my question is this a normal difference between tenor and alto?Im thinking of upgrading the tenor because I know its not the best in the world but will that improve things?I was thinking about a TJ tenor but I take it I would be better off with a Bauhaus??????

Taz

Busking Oracle
I think that most of us who play two horns find there is a difference in playing. Personally I find it the other way around. I mainly play tenor and find the alto (which is a five year old Earlham, compared to a fifty year old Amati tenor) a little harder, somewhat resistant, still a blast to play though. The tenor, however, is still a breeze! Try going to a good music shop in your area and try out a selection of horns of varying price range. It may not help you at all, but at least you'll have good fun!

SteveK

I think it depends a lot on what music you are playing and how much time you send on each instrument. A well setup horn and the right MP/reed combination for you, can make so much difference.
I find the tenor harder to get a good sound from if I am not practicing it regularly - it seems to be less forgiving and the sound can be quite thin and exposed without plenty of playing time.
Then again there are some things that just sound great on the tenor that just don't carry well on the alto and vice versa.

Fact of the matter is that if you have tenor and alto set-ups that are both suitable there shouldn't really be a big difference - you just need to keep working at it and it will come.