Intermediate level: Bob Mintzer Etudes (Blues and Funk)

randulo

Europe
Subscriber
(Edit) I don't mean for this to be only about me. What is your experience with methods like this? Did you go through in order or cherry pick? Did it help your sight reading skills?

My "review": I just got this book and 2 CD set and I am of two minds. First, I'm blown away by how valuable it will be to my alto studies. Second, I'm afraid I won't have the strength to get through it. Remember the old joke, "How do you get the guitar player to turn his amp down?" Put a piece of sheet music in front of him. Ok, thatrisn't as true as it once was, but I came up not learning to read and that's gonna be a problem. Oh, I studied music theory in books, I can decipher the written music. That's what I'm doing now with the first étude. I hope this will improve my reading. I'm sure it will get a little better, at least.

Anyway, I wanted to post this as a suggestion for beginners who may not know about it. This is brilliant stuff, the very first phrase has made me play low notes I wouldn't often play on my own, except for effect. The third note of the first phrase of the first etude is a low B, and I can see I don't have the strength in my LH little finger to hit it at tempo with the funk articulation. I listened to the second tune briefly, but I'm going to try to be disciplined enough to follow the etudes in order. Although challenging, the work doesn't seem impossible.
"What doesn't kill us..."

I highly recommend this book (I'm sure the whole series is excellent). This would be especially valuable if you want to play funkier, are a good sight reader and you are coming from another style and need this kind of exercise and guidance. I bought it from Amazon UK because France didn't list it.

14 Blues and Funk Etudes (Amazon UK link) (Amazon USA link)