All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians

M/Pieces - Ligs Improve Your Current Mouthpiece / Ligature Setup

Grahame

Locality
Hexham
Hi
I have just made a great discovery on how to improve the tone, intonation and playability of your current mouthpiece and ligature. I'm not sure if this has been mentioned before on this forum, so I apologise in advance if it has.

I play a Lawton 8*B mouthpiece. I have just switched to it from a Guardala MBII which I have been playing for 18 months. The Lawton is about 30 years old, in great condition with original ligature. Before switching from the MBII, I was interested in the Saxxas ligature after listening to thesaxman71 on this forum on Soundcloud. Ian's sound is incredible and he uses a Saxxas lig on his handmade Guardala MBI. The lig uses rubber posts to support / hold the reed.

For my Lawton I cut a piece of rubber from a mouthpiece patch and put it between the pressure plate and the reed. Hey presto - it just works really well. It's the only mcp/lig combo that I've tried this on, but I'm thinking that there is no reason that it would not work on any setup. Err.......I think!

Try it. If it works for you, let me know. If it doesn't, let me know. If you've done it before and I'm recycling old ideas, let me know.

Hope it works for you.

Grahame

Locality
Hexham
Update - I have now tried this on my soprano setup. Yani Metal 8 mcp with stock Yani two screw ligature. Happy, because it worked on that too!

Something's wrong here. Is this something that everyone knows about and I have just been in the dark for a long time?

majordennis

Locality
Gone West