PPT mouthpieces

Beginner Improv over Mercy mercy mercy

IGoddard

Locality
UK
I am a complete novice at improvising so as part of my practise routine I try to learn a new song every week and improvise over it. This has been the only way I’m getting any success at what seems an impossible task of learning to improv for a previously classically trained person .

Mercy mercy mercy in its basic form is a simple tune that I’m more than comfortable with. So why am I finding it so hard to improvise over?! When I try I seem to lose the unique flavour that this song has.

Any advice would be appreciated.

On a further note. IRealPro has the backing track as being in Bb with the majority of the bars being G7 and C7. I haven’t come across a version that utilises Eb or Bb in the song, is this the wrong key?

Many thanks

On a further note. IRealPro has the backing track as being in Bb with the majority of the bars being G7 and C7. I haven’t come across a version that utilises Eb or Bb in the song, is this the wrong key?

iReal Pro is saying that the song is in concert Bb, so the tenor sax version is in C.

The great thing I find with this song is that you don't need any complex musical theory to sound good - keep it rhythmical and you can happily play the C pentatonic scale over the whole thing.

Once you're happy, then you can explore more complex ideas but the above should give you a solid foundation to build on.

sometimes you need to listen to a different version to get into the groove of it

this one's slower and more relaxed

and there's the soul version

it's a blues, keep it simple and play it with feeling

I can't find a version by Cannonball Adderley where he actually takes a solo, so don't feel too bad

it's a blues, keep it simple and play it with feeling

just so that folks dont approach this in a certain way, this isnt quite correct.

it isnt a 12 bar bar long sequence, and neither is it a blues in terms of harmony.