All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
SYOS

I'm in love with Trevor (in time for Valentines)

TimboSax

Deputy junior apprentice 2nd class
Subscriber
With the kids on half-term, we all went in to London yesterday to be tourists. My wife had a meeting in the morning for a couple of hours, so me and the kids dropped in on Denmark St.

My daughter had a play on the pianos in Rose Morris, my son had a play on the bass guitars in Wunjo, and then it was my turn >:)

We went in to sax.co.uk and I explained that, while I am a beginner, I have no objection to settings my sights high, and so wanted to try some "proper posh tenor saxes". Liam (nice bloke, looked after me), set me up with a Trevor James Raw, a Raw XS, a Mauriat and a Yamaha 62 (I'd brought my mouthpiece along).

I expected the Yamaha to be my favourite, as that was the one I was thinking of getting (eventually) when I'ved saved up my pennies.

However, the TJ Raw was just amazing. I preferred it to the XS, both of them to the Mauriat, and all three to the Yamaha.

I had a great time playing it (well, all 4 actually), and even my kids both said that I didn't sound as bad as normal. Praise indeed ;}

I didn't have time to play every sax in the shop (shame), but I now have an idea of what I like (other than this, my only sax experience has been on my Jericho tenor).

The Raw felt good, was "easy" to play, and sounded great. Even I could make it sound good, and get different tones from it. The only thing I'm not keen on is the look (what can I say, I like shiny), but it's worth it for that sound and feel.

I won't be getting one soon (I have a certain level of playing I have set myself to achieve before upgrading), but the day will come, and it will be mine :D

Profusia

I'm jealous of your try-out session. But I daren't go and try any top end saxes myself as I know I'd just get serious GAS. I've heard the Raw's are pretty amazing though.

Sue