All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
Tutorials

I'm a Highschooler from the West. Like very West.

Hey everyone, I'm a high school grad from Roseburg, Oregon, and I will be attending Berklee College of Music in late January. I was wondering if, between now and then, should I offer private lessons to beginners? I know I'm not a professional, but should I do it to get them started better than you can get started in the public school system? I think it could be benificial to them, but I don't know how much to charge.
Any advice from anyone is greatly appreciated.
Thank you all =],
Aubrianna

Rogerb

Hi Aubrianna
There is, IMO, nothing like teaching for making you realise how little you know about most things..... I thought I was competent at computer programming, until I started teaching it! You get good at saying"I am not sure, but I will find out and get back to you!" :)
But it should benefit both you and your 'pupils' ....so I'd not charge too much at this stage....but I don't know what a 'reasonable fee' would be, sorry!
Good luck

Gandalfe

I give two lessons a year as part of a charity drive auction. So the winning bidder is usually a late bloomer (adult) coming back to music performance. I inspect the instrument, provide all the tips I wish I'd had when I returned to music, and then recommend one of my fav teachers based on the student's fav music genre.

I usually find leaking pads, terrible mouthpieces, and bent stuff. If I can't fix it I have a battery of techs ranging from expensive/pro to inexpensive/college teacher who can fix anything. I have been known to let one of my 50 some mouthpieces go to a good home too. :)

Sometimes I recommend one of the bands I play with if the student is ready for it. Other times I let them sit in with a band so that they can start networking. As the others have mentioned I usually learn as much as my students. And my fav charity gets $60 to $80 to boot.

Last edited by a moderator: