All profit supporting   special needs music

I must be crazy ...

B

blowsoft

... but I've started to learn saxophone in my mid-40s. I have no previous experience with woodwind or brass, just some piano (now rather sporadic), and a bit of voice training as a child/teen. My daughter plays clarinet, and has recently begun playing alto sax, and my son is learning the trumpet. Their enthusiasm rubbed off, and after a bit of honking one day on my daughter's alto, I decided to go for it ... except that I'm doing the tenor.

I've rented a Yamaha YTS280, and started lessons with my daughter's amazing and renowned teacher. I'm really excited to be taken on, but feel rather unworthy. It's been 20 days since that first try on my daughter's YAS275. On the tenor, I can sound all the notes in the bottom two octaves (just about in the case of low C, B & Bb), with or without tonguing, and I can just about play a couple of favourite tunes (Edelweiss, Godfather theme, etc.). I've been an avid classical and jazz listener since my 20s, so there are so many things I'd like to be able to play, even in simplified form. My teacher has started me out on O'Neill's Jazz method for saxophone. Even the starter tunes are rather nice!

Anyhow, I've really enjoyed this site and "taming ...", so I thought I should join and start more mouthpiece and reed strength threads. Hello All!I

QWales

QWales

Locality
S. Wales, UK
Welcome to the site blowsoft. I think you'll find you're probably one of the youngsters around here. Enjoy.

Chris

Chris

Well Known
Café Supporter
Locality
Manchester,England
Haha, there are a few crazy sax players round here Blowsoft. Welcome to
the Cafe

zelda

zelda

On the border
Locality
British Columbia interior, Canada
Welcome to the Café. You're never too old. I started at around 60 and I'm 65 now. And I haven't lost interest.
Jim

Jeanette

Jeanette

Organizress
Cafe Moderator
Locality
Cheshire UK
Welcome to the Café :)