Tutorials

Beginner How do you swing semiquavers?

BigMartin

On the basis of "there are no stupid questions, only stupid people" ;}:

I realise this is more of an academic than a practical question (I just wish I could play accurately enough for the answer to make a difference!), but I would like to know what I'm aiming for at least in principle. Also, I used to be a mathematician, and my mind just runs this way.

Suppose we're playing a piece with a "swing" rhythm, and we're interpreting quavers as a triplet figure, so we subdivide crotchets in a 2:1 ratio. How do we play semiquavers?

a) Divide each quaver evenly, so a crotchet becomes 2:2:1:1

b) Divide each quaver into another triplet, so we get 4:2:2:1

c) Make the ratio of each note to the next be constant while keeping the 3rd semi in the same place that the second quaver was (hope that makes sense). I think this one involves solving a cubic equation which I have no intention of doing (even I'm not that sad).

d) None of the above.

Any suggestions (apart from "you should get out more")?

Cheers

Martin

Nick Wyver

noisy
Subscriber
Evenly. As you would with any other sort of music. Swing only affects quavers (ok, there are occasional bits of weird notation where semis are swung instead, but it's unusual). This is, of course, assuming whoever notated the stuff knew what they were doing.

TomMapfumo

You should get............... gosh, I'm getting as bad at reading posts as Beckmeistersinger...........................;}

Night night!
Tom:cool:

TomMapfumo

Hi Becks!

Well I do have recordings of all Wagner operas, and have seen them all at Covent Garden, apart from the opera in question - not mythological enough for your celtic bro' .........;}
It's all North European Jazz, at the end of the day!:w00t::shocked:

Kind regards

Last edited by a moderator:

Andante cantabile

Hi Becks!