All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
Tutorials

Hi from Sunny (?) Cornwall UK

SimonR

Hi, I'm a budding player, albeit a rather late bloomer. I have had a tenor sax for some years now and only really doodled around with it until about 3 months ago when I kicked myself up the unmentionable and got on with it.

I am a musician already I suppose in that I already play piano and guitar, so I find reading the dots OK (although I was surprised how much I had forgotten about harmony, notation, etc!).

I am taking the self taught route at the moment and seem to be doing OK. My latest move was to join the volunteer band at my naval base. I find it a double-edged sword in that I spend more time trying to get the tunes right than practicing long notes, scales, etc. However, I have found it a great way to focus, and have learnt much from the existing players. Marching and playing at the same time is a LOT harder than it looks !

I have been dipping in to this forum for a while now and have found it very useful. Maybe one day I'll feel comfortable enough to contribute!:)

kevgermany

ex Landrover Nut
Subscriber
Hi, big welcome from me. Lots of late starters here. Don't be shy about joining in - just comment/ask. Have fun!

Justin Chune

Hello Simon, and welcome to the cafe. I used to enjoy playing with a marching band but these days I don't have the puff to march and play. Such a pity. Reading the dots for the clarinet on the hoof was no problem, but I found reading the sax parts difficult. I just couldn't get them into focus when moving. It was lucky for me that the Cavalcade ground to a halt a lot. Playing those harmonies and counter melodies will be great practice for you. Enjoy yourself.

Jim.

old git

Tremendous Bore
Welcome to the caff©, Simon.

Promise me your first tune will not be The Furry Dance.

ENJOY!​™

TomMapfumo

Hi Simon!

A Big Welcome to the Cafe from the Skabertawe Crucial Crew, up by yer in Wales, mind!