All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
Tutorials

Hi from sunny Berkshire

richard

Hi there,

Well a bit late in life perhaps (I'm 48), but about six months ago, I started learning the alto saxophone. The kids had left home for university and suddenly had loads of time on my hands.
Everyone else in the family plays to a good standard, and I felt I was letting the side down, so decided to take the plunge. Tried my sisters sax, and managed to get a note pretty quickly. Tried my son's cornet and couldn't make a recognisable sound, so the sax won the day.

But the best bit for me is that after two lessons I joined a beginners wind band. Playing music with other people is just so much fun, and it does wonders for your confidence, technique and sight reading etc.

Cheers

Richard

kevgermany

ex Landrover Nut
Subscriber
Big welcome from me. Also a late starter. Many others here, as well as some younger ones who'd probably beat us all hands down...

Have fun, shout away.

Pyrografix

Senile Member
Hi Richard,

Welcome aboard. Loads of late starters contributing to the forum, so you'll get plenty of support and advice (most of which may be helpful!).

Well done for playing in the wind band - it took me 2 years to pluck up the courage to play in front of anyone other than my tutor!

Hope you get your YAS275 sorted - they're lovely instruments when they work properly.

Cheers,

Amanda

TomMapfumo

A Big Welcome from me, too!

I started on Alto Sax at a similar age, also going on to play Trumpet and Trombone, and the usual sax/trumpet variants - great fun.

Great to have you aboard and hope that you really enjoy the banter and such like, and learn what you need to over coming months.
Kind regards
Tom:cool:

trimmy

One day i will...
Welcome to the cafe Richard :)