All fees from subs and sales are given to special needs music education charities
Tutorials

Hi from North Somerset

Ade

Hi All,

Thought I'd better introduce myself as I joined up recently.
I started out on clarinet when I was in my early teens and a couple of years later I bought myself a tenor sax which I then traded in for an alto. I was self taught and mainly just played around with tunes I liked and never bothered with any theory which I kind of regret many years later as I'm now trying to catch up on a wasted youth!

The lure of joining a gigging rock band playing bass came my way in the early 80's so I sold my sax bought an amp and concentrated on bass for the next 25 years playing mainly funky R&B pop stuff but have also been in various jazz bands covering the usual array of 'Real book' classics. Still playing bass in a jazz improv band but we've taken an extended break after our keyboard player left last summer. Any Piano/Keyboard players interested?

I'd always regretted selling my sax, and earlier this year I decided to release some funds by selling a spare bass and bought myself a shiny new Yamaha YS275 Alto. I still have my Berg Larsen mp which I bought many years for a measly £25 which I'm very glad I kept 'just in case'. I'm about 4 months into my 'rebirth' and am really enjoying it. The sax is such a great organic instrument especially after years of playing electric bass and it's really satisfying to produce a sound that comes from me rather that the electronics. A lot of what I'd learnt some 20+ years ago actually came back fairly quickly and can now produce a fairly reasonable tone that doesn’t scare the family too much.