All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
Tutorials

Help with Guide Tones

rhysonsax

Can anyone help me to improve my understanding of using guide tones ?

I think that identifying and using the 3rd and 7th of each chord of the harmony is key.

But what note would I use as the 7th for a C chord (as opposed to Cmaj7) ?

And what would be the guide tones for chords such as: C6 or C6/9 ?

And what about Csus4 ?

Thanks

Rhys (confused)

BigMartin

I think that identifying and using the 3rd and 7th of each chord of the harmony is key.

I'm pretty new to this so better take anything I say with a large grain of salt, but as far as I understand it...

A C chord doesn't have a 7th (it does have a 3rd though, obviously). If we're talking about an older, "trad", tune the 6th will sound fine as an extra chord tone (ie play it as a C6 --the 6 is part of the pentatonic scale) but I don't know if you'd want to use it as a guide tone. For a more modern sound you could create some tension by chucking the major 7 in anyway. I suppose the answer, as always, is try it and see what happens.

Well if the the 6 is specified as part of the chord the I would think that would make a useful guide tone as it helps to bring out the sound that's being called for (unlike the root or 5th which tend to be a bit bland).
For C6/9 I probably wouldn't bother with the 9 (ie D) much as it should already be there in the bass.

And what about Csus4 ?
For a C sus4, you could use the 4 instead of the 3, as that's the note that defines the quality of the chord.

Thanks

Rhys (confused)
Hope I made some kind of sense. Like I said, I suppose the real answer is to try stuff and see what it sounds like, preferably by recording yourself and playing it back.

Morgan Fry

And what about Csus4 ?

Thanks

Rhys (confused)
First of all, the following is assumed to be entirely within a jazz standards context.