All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
Tutorials

Hello members. New Late Bloomer.

johnny b.

Hello, just thought I would introduce myself.

Johnny b. from F.N.Q. Aust.

I have been playing ( attempting to ) tenor for a little under 12 months. Selmer Ref 36 Flamingo via Saxforte.
Using Selmer C* mouthpiece. Brancher Lig. Reeds. ummm various. Rico, Brancher,Gonzalez,Vandoren, Legere
Studio & Signature. All 1.5 to 2.5. Found the Legere Signature convenient, all the others similar sounding.

I couple of years ago I was strolling through the city and heard a busker in the distance, playing sax under a large
overpass. ( Swanston St., next to Yarra river for anyone familiar with Melb. )The sound was echoing a fair distance, I just stood still and listened to him play the blues. From that moment I made the decision to learn
to play sax.

Unfortunately I waited until 12 months ago to commit and buy a horn. Oh well better late than never.
The cost of new professional saxes in Aust make purchasing here fairly prohibitive. After a fair bit of research
I decided to use the internet and buy from overseas. I realize it was a gamble but all seems to have turned out
ok. I am happy with the sound and ergonomics of the sax I bought. Having said that I did not try many. They are
just not available where I live. I did alot of listening on the net. I used Saxforte in U.S. and the Sax turned up
in one piece.

I arrived at this forum via Saxontheweb. I was just reading a post by a Sax Tech regarding a R&C Tenor that came
in for repair. A bit of a bun fight. lol. Anyway Pete Thomas posted a clip there and the sound of his playing on an
R&C tenor impressed me. I looked at his set up and and he was playing a PPT mouthpiece with Legere Sig. reed.
Even though I have only been playing for 1 year I have been curious about other mouthpieces. As the profits from
the sale of these mouthpieces go to charity I thought I would purchase one. I chose a #7.