Hello from 'Steel Band Land'

Martin

Hello from Grenada in the West Indies, I’d like to introduce myself to the folk of the forum.
I’ve been playing an old Buescher True Tone alto for the last thirty years, since my brother gave it to me when I was thirteen. It’s kind of beaten up, but it plays. It’s been everywhere with me. The case makes a great seat for two when waiting for the last train home after a night staggering around town. In truth it’s a while since I did that, now being a respectable 43 years old and married to the girl who used to sit on the box with me, steady job, etc.
I’ve always been able to blast out a pretty melody, but not much more. Some time ago, I jammed with a good saxophonist. He spoke a language that I didn’t understand. He spoke of analysing the chords into II chords, I chords, V chords, etc. I watched over his shoulder. After analysing the piece, there were many fewer chord changes. The next day I ordered a book ‘The Jazz Theory Book’ by Mark Levine. I’m half way through it now. It’s really heavy going but I understand the language...still can’t put it into practice mind you.
A year ago I bought a gorgeous ‘The Martin’ tenor and recently put a PPT 9 star mouthpiece on it. I love it...lots of ********! Still waiting for an RPC mouthpiece which I ordered a long time ago...

Pee Dee

Hi welcome from the sunny south of England. Sounds a bit silly saying that to you:(
The sunny south of England bit I mean:ashamed

Young Col

Hi Martin. I'm sure there is no-one else from Grenada, or even WI on here, so welcome! Great story.

Not so sunny up here nearer London today - very wet actually!
Colin

Taz

Busking Oracle