Tutorials

Hello from MK

Dave M

Hi All

I am new to the Saxophone world, I have just purchased my first Alto sax it was a Jupiter 567 which I am told is a good for beginners !.
It is for me and my daughter to both learn on. She will be having lesson though school in Sept. I have brought Pete DVD to get started with.
This is my very first instrument I have ever owened. Got it a couple of weeks ago now and have been trying to master the MP :)
Having a bit of trouble with air from the MP and getting a constant note each time. I expect it's all about practice......
As they say Rome was not built in a day:D

Buy the way this is a great site, lots of useful tip and discusions
Thank you.
Dave

old git

Tremendous Bore
Welcome to the BR Dave.
You will get more responses tonight and tomorrow, as quite a few of the regulars are giving poor Karen Sharpe hell at her workshop. ;} I'll probably get killed for that. :(

What type of music attracted you to Adolph's finest? Who would you like to emulate, assuming it's not illegal? :)

Just remember we all make progress at different rates, iust enjoy the ups and the few downs.:D

OP
D

Dave M

Thanks old git

Out of interest who is this Karen Sharpe !
The type of music i like on the sax is more towards Jazz i suppose, but basically with the rest of family all playing musical instruments I felt it was time for me to have a go and have always liked the sound of the sax it sounds cool to me :mrcool.

I am just enjoying getting notes out of it today and playing the scales for now. The hardest thing at present is getting a constant note.:sax:

Question :- How do you know when the reed needs changing ?
I have been using the same Vandoren 1.5 reed for the last couple of weeks.
The air noise I am getting some times when blowing, could this be the reed needs changing or more likely my mouth grip?

davhudson

Hello there.