Hello from Dartford/Kent

SignorTenor

Hi everyone,

I have been looking at this forum and Pete's pages for a long time and it's about time I joined.

I've been playing mostly on my own for over twenty years with a fourteen year pause in between!

Last year I picked up again my very tired Super Action series II alto and reminded myself how much work I need to do and how much I love playing.

My love was always the tenor (I started on a Grassi and owned a Selmer series II for a while) and on Xmas eve I was unwrapping a gorgeous Walstein courtesy of my lovely (foolish) girlfriend. This was a very unexpected present and possibly the best present since my Casiotone keyboard thirty years ago!!!

Yesterday was another great day: my first pilgrimage to sax.co.uk headquarters to buy myself a new mouthpiece and bits for the tenor. That place is quite something and even having visited the branch in London, it was still very very impressive.

I was made a coffee and given access to anything I fancied to try. They even made a slight adjustment to the lower register on the Walstein in the workshop. I finally opted for a Jody Jazz Classic. It looks gorgeous, comes with BG ligature, spolier and lovely bag and it plays great!

I would really like take my practise more seriously but I ultimately would love to find someone to play with and hope to get in contact with other players in the area through the forum.

So, thank in advance guys and Happy New Year to all of you

Andrea

Taz

Busking Oracle
Hi Andrea and welcome to the Cafe, its a great place to be, sort of a virtual Sax.co, only without all the bits a pieces and every sax is owened by other people....so, um, not like Sax.co at all then.

Am I loseing the plot already? :(
Happy new year.

Phil Edwards

Hi Andrea welcome to the cafe from someone fortunate to live only a few miles from sax.co.uk (not sure my wife thinks it's quite so forunate - damn tempting more like)