All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
SYOS

Hello Everyone from Yorkshire

YorkshireSax

Hello Everyone

I started learning the alto sax six years ago (age 53) but unfortunately I had to stop for a rather bizarre reason. We had an elderly English Pointer at the time and whenever I played the sax he would start howling. This wasn't good as he had breathing problems and would soon get into difficulties. Harvey has now sadly gone which has allowed me to get the sax out again and start learning again. Covid-19 and self isolation is another good reason to learn. I bought the saxophone from a young woman and it is a Gulf. Its serial number is GAS - 50247

I'm very much a beginner but I am now at the point where I can play some well known songs. I do love the blues so that is a direction I'd like to progress with. Although we lost Harvey I'm afraid my wife doesn't always appreciate my playing while she's trying to watch the TV. To reduce the chance of a costly divorce I've recently invested in an Aerophone GO. The volume control and use of headphones definitely allows me to practice a lot more.

My saxophone has, to my knowledge, never been serviced and I've no idea how old it is and I'm not too sure what quality it is and at times it doesn't sound as nice as I'd like. Maybe that's just me though!

Having also struggled in the past with a cheap and badly set up acoustic guitar I know what difference a good new instrument can make to one's learning and enjoyment.