All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
SYOS

Guess the maker

littlemisscritical

Okay, I know this isn't technically a technical question, but I figure since you guys know your way around the business end of a sax, you would be the best people to help me.

I'm currently on the hunt for a tenor sax, having wanted to move from alto to tenor since before I got an alto (but was assured that alto was 'easier' to learn on, and since I was teaching myself, I thought I'd better not run before I could walk). Anyway, I digress - I'm a student on a budget and so I don't have that wide a choice what I go for.

However, I have been offered a nickel sax, seemingly only in need of a good polish for 200 (at this point I should probably admit to having a bit if a thing for nickel sax's - what can I say, I like the shiny silver...). The only issue with this sax is that at the moment, I have no idea who the maker is. All the seller (not a sax expert obviously) is able to tell me, is that it has a large B engraved on the bell.

Not a lot to go on, I know, but I was wondering if anyone had any idea of the make of this sax, and whether or not its something I should go for?

Or, should I go for a Yamaha YTS-21 I've been offered for 150?

HELP!

griff136

Okay, I know this isn't technically a technical question, but I figure since you guys know your way around the business end of a sax, you would be the best people to help me.

I'm currently on the hunt for a tenor sax, having wanted to move from alto to tenor since before I got an alto (but was assured that alto was 'easier' to learn on, and since I was teaching myself, I thought I'd better not run before I could walk). Anyway, I digress - I'm a student on a budget and so I don't have that wide a choice what I go for.