All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
Tutorials

Greetings from the frozen north...

Mellowman

Hello there from Orkney :)

I've been a full-time woodwind teacher for around thirty years, but thought I'd show my face around somewhere more UK-centric...

Lots of experience on the sax and all other woodwinds, but there's always something new to learn. Feel free to ask any questions!

I've had lots of saxes over the years, including a mint 1960 Selmer Mk VI alto, but currently play on a Yanagisawa A9932Z 'Peter King' alto and a Dave Guardala 501CL Goldbrass tenor.

I've also played and sold early musical instruments and am a frequent visitor to Frankfurt Musikmesse, where I've enjoyed trying out the latest saxes.

I'm currently looking at a new alto to save any damage to the Yani, which is really too valuable to use daily, especially in school!

David

Andrew Sanders

Northern Commissioner for Caslm
Hi David,

You make me feel like a southerner.
Welcome from the sunny south.

Would love to hear what your Pete King Alto sounds like.

Andy

Mellowman

Thanks for the welcomes! Yes, if I get a minute over the hols I'd be delighted to record some sounds and share a few pics - watch this space...

I'm also hoping to try a few saxes out in the New Year, and have trip to Hanson's planned.

Mellowman

Have fun at Hanson's. I recently bought an ST8 in silver/gold and it's a beaut.
I'm after an inexpensive horn for teaching use, so the Hanson pro range look ideal. I've heard great things about the Bauhaus Walstein pro saxes too. Will report back in due course...

Mellowman

Welcome to the cafe, if you are looking for an alto check out Hanson's Monarch.:)

Jx