All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
Tutorials

Greetings from Finland! From SOTW to Cafe Saxophone and beyond!

Ville K.

Hello everyone!

My name is Ville and I'm an amateur sax player from Finland. I listened to a lot of blues when I was in high school but then fell in love with jazz thanks to my music teacher who gave me a few jazz records one being a Charlie Parker record! I got interested about playing the tenor saxophone after I heard the music of John Coltrane and Juhani Aaltonen, both favourite tenor players of mine. (On my forum avatar is the picture of the latter at the moment). I studied saxophone with a teacher some years ago and he as a very encouraging person who helped me on my path as a saxophone player and I'm grateful to him for all his help. As I was still studying I got to play with a band which consisted of other amateur players and we did a lot of covers of rock'n'roll music and enjoyed free form jam sessions with emphasis on collective improvisation. But those days have gone now as my life has been in constant rotation and after finishing studies I've been working and moving here and there which has left me soloing in solitude.
:verysad

Recently I've had the chance to hear world class jazz musicians perform near my neighbourhood at the Tampere Jazz Happening which included inspired performances from Dave Holland Quintet, Juhani Aaltonen Quartet and Marc Ribot Sunship among others!

I've been a member of Sax On The Web -forum since 2003 (known there as ”VilleK.”). I found out about Cafe Saxophone just recently as I was searching for more information about the Bauhaus-Walstein saxophones that have been getting positive feedback from respected players and technicians on the Sax On The Web -forum as well. So far I've been just browsing through the Cafe Saxophone forum with great interest and this is my first post here.