All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
PPT Mouthpieces

Greeting from Kent

Mister Levity

Hello all,i'm a 51 year old beginner,I've hired aTrevor James "The Horn" tenor from sax.co.uk to see if I've got what it takes.
Played bass guitar for many years but have always loved the sound of a sax.So I thought I would take the plunge and give it a go.
Found my self a tutor and have been practicing as much as I can at home and I'm loving it.:)

kevgermany

ex Landrover Nut
Subscriber
Big welcome from me. I'm sure you've got what it takes if you've played a bass guitar.... Have fun here!

Sweet Dreamer

Hello, Mister Levity, welcome. Looks like you got the right idea trying a horn out before buying. I never really thought about that. I'm 61 and just started the sax myself. I started on an Alto, which seems like a big horn for me. At least it did when I first got it, but it does seem to be shrinking rather quickly. I guess I'm getting used to handling it. I have respiratory problems too which is another reason I chose the smaller horn. I read that the tenor takes a bit more air. But I'm sure it also has that lovely deeper sound. As a bass player I'm sure you'll appreciate the tenor over an alto.

I was just practicing tonight. I've been playing for a month or so, off and on. I'm learning blues tonight. I play guitar too, so I just transcribed some blues into Eb for the sax and I'm starting to pick it up. It's amazing how different it sounds on the sax. Everything is different, not just the sound of the instrument, but the very way that phrasings come out. I'm really glad I got this little sax to play with. Sounds like you're already addicted to the sax too.

johnboy

Hi there Mister Levity,

With a Moniker like that, you've come to the right place. We all like to have a giggle and express our often conflicting views.

Welcome aboard,
John.

Last edited by a moderator:

Ben Cain

Hi