Grade chaser

Discussion in 'The Doorbell' started by cooljingle, Jul 13, 2017.

1. cooljingle

cooljingle New Member

Positive Ratings:
    +1
    Long time lurker, first time poster...

Firstly it's great to have a community like this and I'm grateful to all the people that have shared their knowledge on these forums. Many times I have searched about saxophone things and a thread here has shed some light on the issue.

My current goals:
    • Do Grade 7 in the autumn
    • learn more about jazz theory
    Background:
    I started learning last year Feb after a break-up with by then-girlfriend left me with some time to focus on ME (musical entreaties). I bought a Stagg 77st tenor sax from eBay and set about going through the Universal Method for Saxophone book. I have grade 8 in piano and violin so I started with a fairly good grounding in music theory, I jumped to grade 4 in the summer and then grade 6 last November (got a merit in both); in between those I wanted a sax upgrade and got a Buesher New Aristocrat (circa 1935). It plays brilliantly on the low end but in the high register I have trouble with intonation and my embouchure tires super quickly. I took an extended break from it at the start of year but recently got back into it, I sometimes jam with a couple of coworkers who happen to also play which is fun :)

I almost bought a P Mauriat 66r the other day but the seller inexplicably vanished in between agreement and exchange.. I took it as a sign of karmic retribution for not practising enough! I'm currently trying exercises to improve my tone and make the notes come out a little easier.

2. Jeanette

Jeanette Organizress Cafe Moderator

Positive Ratings:
    +6,678
    Welcome to the Café, looking forward to hearing more from you :)

Jx

3. tenorviol

tenorviol Full of frets in North Shropshire

Positive Ratings:
    +2,044
    Hi - if you're tiring easily, then your reed may be too hard

4. nigeld

nigeld slow learner

Positive Ratings:
    +1,145