support Tutorials CDs PPT mouthpieces

Saxophones Grade 5 with a beginner sax?

Freya Luscombe

I've run into a bit of a predicament. I'm at grade 5 standard (15 years old) on the alto saxophone. Ive been playing for 4 years using a beginner Gear4Music alto saxophone. I'm the first to admit this is not a high quality sax which is why I was been researching the possibility of buying a new one. I feel like I'm at an awkward stage in my skill where I can play an intermediate piece but fight against my current saxophone, but perhaps buying a more professional saxophone could be too expensive for the level of skill I am at.

In the least bratty way possible, money isn't a huge issue for me. I've got enough savings to be buying a £1000+ sax, the question is whether it's worth it.

I really want to progress with my instrument, and my teacher has suggested buying a new sax is part of the way of moving forward. I am willing to pay the money, and frankly deep down I am desperate to buy one of these gorgeous saxophones I keep seeing online.

I'm wondering whether it could be worth going straight for a professional sax instead of intermediate to save me money in the future so I wouldn't feel the need to buy a better one. I'm really stuck on what my answer is. Splurge and by a professional sax that doesn't quite fit the grade I am at, or upgrade to an intermediate and consider buying a better saxophone later down the line?

Any kind of advice would be greatly appreciated, as well as any suggestions for a type of alto saxophone to buy or where to get it (I live in Cardiff, Wales if that helps).

Thank you!

You have a few options. Ignoring intermediate models, which mostly don't count these days. You won't find a new professional level sax in your price range. And there's no reason not to go pro at your level and level of commitment. So in order of ascending price.