Tutorials

Good afternoon

alrightson

Hello everyone,
I am a total beginner to Saxophones, but have always loved the sound of them, ever since I first heard Baker Street, and more so when I heard Songbird.

I currently have got a student entry Sanata Alto. Which I have only used the mouthpiece at the moment. Being 46 and just recently lost my wife I thought it was time this old dog learnt a new trick.

Jeanette

Organizress
Cafe Moderator
Welcome to the café and I am so sorry to hear of your loss.

Never to old to learn sax, have fun here :)

Jx

tenorviol

Full of frets in North Shropshire
Subscriber
Hi welcome, you're much younger than many on here when they started, me included.

Last edited:

CliveMA

Welcome. I'm sorry about your loss. Sax is a lot of fun and can easily use up as much or as little time as you'd like. I'm retired and basically spend all day doing music-related activities. For me, it is a pleasant change from my former computing career.

OP
A

alrightson

Welcome. I'm sorry about your loss. Sax is a lot of fun and can easily use up as much or as little time as you'd like. I'm retired and basically spend all day doing music-related activities. For me, it is a pleasant change from my former computing career.
Thank you, I am hoping that I can learn the sax, as my son youngest son is a song writer and plays piano, so hoping to be able to play my sax alongside him at home

tenorviol

Full of frets in North Shropshire
Subscriber
One thing that I would strongly recommend even to an absolute beginner is to join a community band / orchestra straight away. These groups will take on beginners and such a group is a great help not only with your development as a musician but they can be good social outlets. When I started on cello at etc age of 51 I joined a community orchestra, which had everyone from youngsters through to several in their 80s on every instrument imaginable.