All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
Tutorials

Found my limit perhaps

Moz

I have been playing for seven years and have just about reached what could be termed a grade seven level (although I have taken no exams). I can play a grade 7 piece with practice and a grade 5 piece by sight-reading but have recently been attempting Bach Sonata in G Minor arranged for tenor sax and piano (generally a grade 8 piece depending on playing speed) and I believe I may have reached the pinnacle of my sax playing. I cannot master this piece and I have been bashing at it for months. Parts come and parts go but I cannot put it all together in one smooth number and I feel I have found my limit.

Most players are not concert standard and so all of us must reach a point where we know we cannot get better -- so what now? Put an advert on the internet "reasonable player looking for band who are not too bad but not brilliant"? Take up another instrument and start from scratch until that upper limit is reached again?

Just looking for a bit of direction from others who have hit this plateau as practice is going down to a couple of times a week because I no longer know why I'm doing it.

Cheers

Martin (who is perhaps being a little hard on himself)

Sweet Dreamer

I'm sure that's it Martin. These kinds of impossible barriers are precisely the kinds of things that make great stories later about how you thought something was insurmountable only to discover that at some point the dam finally breaks and a flood of unbelievable skill and talent overwhelms you. ;}

I've had many trials and tribulations in my pursuit of music. For started I didn't even truly get into music until I was 57. What an age to START at! Well, to be fair, I did have some guitar and banjo under my belt from younger days. And fortunately I had gotten interested in classical guitar and from there I learned to read music fairly well. So I had that jump on things.