All profit supporting special needs music education and Help Musicians
Tutorials

For Score

Jamesmac

Hi to all
I use the iPad to store and read lead sheets, and link up with all my backing tracks i iTunes.
I was wondering if there is anyone else out there doing the same.
i use the App Forscore.

breathless

Hi James, I can't answer your question but wondered if I may make an enquiry? I only started learning to play sax and read music 3-4 months ago and being a bit of a gadget freak im very interested in what's music related appear are available?
I currently using a blackberry PlayBook (yes I no that's a mistake ) and I'm finding its seriously limited when it comes to apps in general!
I'm very interested in what support there is approximately wise for the ipad as I may consider jumping ship.

Is there much in a way of composition and beginners aid apps?

Sorry to hyjack the thread!

Rgds Lee.

Jazzaferri

While there are a myriad of apps for mymiPad i find most of them have major limitations and the iPad bugginess drives me crazy. I type too fast for the keyboard and it keeps putting "m"s in etc etc.

I realB is pretty good but the versioni have doesnt transpose keys. Better to spend your money on Band in a Box if ou have a computer. Imo best practice aid money can buy.

http://www.pgmusic.com/

Jamesmac

Hi Jazzaferri
I use sonar on the desktop for creating and editing midi, before i convert to a wav or mp3 to load into itunes.
The app on the ipad is only as an alternative to a hard copy, ie. music sheet. but when you open the page it links with the backing track in itunes. so no need for an ipod or cd of the backing track. the app can also be programed to turn the page.

Jamesmac

Hi Lee
Yes lots of Apps out there, but i think for what you want it is better to use a full blown music program like Sonar on a desktop. You have a full orchestra at your disposal with virtual instruments, and the ability to record live.

breathless