All fees from subs and sales are given to special needs music education charities
ArtistWorks

Saxophones First tenor

botahoratiu

Hi. This would be my first post here, so please be gentle I am an amateur trumpet player from Romania and recently felt being drawn to the tenor saxophone. My question is what tenor to buy in the following circumstances: $250 (200€) budget, used horn, no saxophone related knowledge (yet). I can choose between the following: Amati Classic Keilwerth Model 3 Keilwerth "Student" Weltklang, Markneukirchen Klingenthal Any othe suggestion? Thank you very much Best wishes from Europe Horatiu

georgesax

Subscriber
would you consider this?
this has been recommended to me earlier by a very respectable member of the Cafe. you might be able to find a second-hand horn which should be within your budget. But I have to say that I am new player too. I have very limited knowledge. But I would say, you would not go wrong with Yamaha YAS 280, which is very good. I played Yamaha YAS 280 alto sax. Good luck with you searching.

OP
B

botahoratiu

Tks, but a Yamaha would be too expensive for me at this point. I already found a Luxor Solo tenor in bad shape and plan to get it in working condition by myself. ;)

randulo

Playing alto 25 months
Subscriber
Tks, but a Yamaha would be too expensive for me at this point. I already found a Luxor Solo tenor in bad shape and plan to get it in working condition by myself. ;)
Good luck on your new voyage into saxophony! As you may already know, if you need help with repairs, there are several professionals who kindly donate their time here and share their knowledge.

OP
B

botahoratiu

In the meantime, I also found a Buescher Aristocrat 200 USA tenor. Are these ok horns? It is in very nice used condition, for about 340€.

JayeNM

Formerly JayePDX