support Tutorials CDs PPT mouthpieces

Beginner First Attempt at Recording Myself

nigeld

Too many mouthpieces
Café Supporter
Locality
Bristol, UK
I've been thinking for a while that I ought to record myself, even though I didn't want to. So I studied the threads on this forum and bought a Zoom H2n. That was the easy part! When it arrived, I hid it under some papers, so I could ignore it for a bit longer, but finally last weekend I summoned up courage and decided to make a recording of "Alfie" - just myself, no backing track.

I found I that I was mesmerised by the recorder - my normal logic functions were temporarily suspended. I pushed the record button and the recorder fell over, so I hurriedly picked it up and felt I had to start playing immediately. I grabbed the sax, putting my fingers on the wrong keys; honk, honk honk; and wondered why the first notes were coming out wrong. Realised what had gone wrong. Switched off the recorder in embarrassment. Spent 10 minutes fumbling with the recorder trying to delete the recording. Started again, and did exactly the same thing - recorder falls over, put it back, grab sax, fingers in wrong place, honk, honk, honk.

By now I was seriously rattled, but I took a deep breath, started again, and managed to play the first half of the ballad before deciding that it sounded too awful to continue. I didn't need a recorder to tell me it was rubbish, but I listened to it anyway, and it was even worse than I thought - bad tone, awful timing, wrong notes . . . . Put down sax and decided to learn the Peruvian nose flute instead. All in all, a horrible experience.